7-30 pm Saturday 12 October 2019

St Andrew’s Church, Farnham, GU9 7PW

Farnham Sinfonia

Michael Collins – Soloist

Farnham Sinfonia -4

Conductor: Matthew Taylor

Leader: Elizabeth Cooney (violin)


John McCabe: Red Leaves

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Clarinet concerto

Josef Haydn: Symphony 85 “La Reine”

Download printed programme

Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto, one of his very last works breathes a serenity and wisdom which has endeared it to audiences and musicians alike. It has remained the best loved work written for clarinet and orchestra and we are delighted that Michael Collins, one of Britain’s most celebrated clarinettists will be playing the solo.

John McCabe (1939 -2015) was one of the most impressive all round musicians I have ever met – composer, pianist and writer. This year to mark what would have been his 80th birthday we are performing his Red Leaves – a musical portrait of Autumn landscapes in the New England. Richly colourful and highly imaginative it shows a sort of musical impressionism made relevant to modern consciousness.

The concert will end with Haydn’s Symphony No.85, one of the so-called Paris Symphonies which apparently was a real favourite with Marie Antoinette, hence the title ‘La Reine’,.


Children who can sit quietly are most welcome. All under 26s may attend FREE thanks to CAVATINA if they enter their name and date of birth on a form at the door – no advance notice needed.

Parents and teachers may attend FREE if they bring children who need to be accompanied (typically up to 16 years) but they should email chairman@tilbach.org.uk at least 2 days before the concert to register.

Tickets AVAILABLE on the door cost £17-50


Contacts:  Diana Martin 01252 716170 or Sue Sagun 01252 613130

0300 201 0070 or 01252 613130