7-30pm Saturday 13 October 2018

St Andrew’s Church, Farnham, GU9 7PW

Farnham Sinfonia

Farnham Sinfonia -4

Conductor: Matthew Taylor

Leader: Elizabeth Cooney (violin)


Sibelius Impromptu for Strings

David Matthews Adagio
(short contemporary piece)

Mozart Violin Concerto No 5 in A major; soloist Elizabeth Cooney

3 Beethoven Bagatelles from Opus 33 arranged for Sinfonia by Matthew Taylor
(world premiere)

Haydn Symphony No 22 (Philosopher)  

The Sibelius Impromptu is a reworking of 2 piano pieces arranged by him for string orchestra. It shows the lyric simplicity and profundity of expression in miniature.

David Matthews is one of Britain’s most distinguished living composers. As 2018 marks his 75th birthday, we are delighted to include a short work by him, the profoundly moving Adagio written in memoriam for the art critic Peter Fuller who was tragically killed in an car accident.

The 5th Violin Concerto in A is Mozart’s greatest Violin Concerto including references to Turkish music in the finale.

Many of Beethoven’s Bagatelles are widely known to pianists so this new orchestration of 3 of them by Matthew Taylor aims to introduce them to a wider audience.

Haydn’s Symphony No.22 subtitled the Philosopher is one of the noblest and most colourful of the earlier symphonies, includes two cor anglaises alternating with two horns.


Parents and teachers may attend FREE if they bring children who need to be accompanied (typically up to 16 years) but they should email chairman@tilbach.org.uk at least 2 days before the concert to register.

All 8-25 year olds FREE

We do not issue physical tickets for the concerts in Farnham but record advance payments and check names on the door.

Refreshments are free but we invite donations of £2-50 for wine and 50p for juice towards the costs. (£1 towards drinks and cakes when at Farnham Methodist where wine is not available)
You can pay before the date of the concert by credit card using PayPal by clicking one of the following links (you can adjust the number of tickets needed in the Paypal shopping cart).
You do not need to have a PayPal account:

BUY MEMBER ticket at £14-00 and receive emails on future concerts

BUY PUBLIC ticket at £15-00 and receive emails on future concerts

Tickets on the door cost £17-50

If you do not wish to receive emails on future concerts please either unsubscribe when you receive your first email or buy your ticket on the door.

Alternatively you can download, complete and post the Booking Form (address on form) with a cheque.

0300 201 0070 or 01252 613130